Latest News

Top footy teachers recognisedFriday, August 11, 2017 - 2:06 PM

Share |

West Australian teachers were recognised for their outstanding work in promoting Australian Football in their school communities at the 2017 AFL School Ambassador Awards night at Domain Stadium on Thursday, August 10.

In front of a supportive crowd of school and community football representatives, including special guests from Fremantle Football Club, the West Coast Eagles and Member for Bicton Lisa O’Malley MLA, 30 finalists were acknowledged and six category winners announced.

Major award winners Christiaan Moir from Ashfield Primary and Thomas Moscarda from Wanneroo Secondary College, who went back-to-back in his award category, each won a trip for two to Melbourne to watch an AFL final.

West Australian Football Commission (WAFC) Schools Program Manager David Lindsay congratulated all award finalists and thanked the attendees, school principals, teachers and their colleagues for supporting such an important program.

“The event was a fantastic way to recognise and celebrate the outstanding work achieved by teachers to promote the game of Australian Football at their schools,” he said.

“Congratulations to all award winners who are all a credit to their school community with the volume of work they achieve during and out of school hours to promote our great game in the classroom.

“A special thank you to Elliot Yeo (West Coast Eagles), and Michael Walters and Kellie Gibson from the Fremantle Dockers who entertained the audience during a panel discussion with tales from their school football days.

“I would also like to congratulate all WAFC District Development Officers and Regional Development Managers. The event recognises the outstanding work done by the teachers but also the effort our district staff put in to school programs and building strong relationships with our AFL School Ambassadors,” he said.

All registered teachers are eligible to become a AFL School Ambassador. The WAFC provides training, equipment and support, free of charge. Click here for more information.

2017 Award Winners

Most Outstanding Primary AFL School Ambassador
Christiaan Moir – Ashfield Primary School
Most Outstanding Secondary AFL School Ambassador
Thomas Moscarda - Wanneroo Secondary College
Outstanding First Year AFL School Ambassador
Tasha Longman: Creaney Primary School
Outstanding Female AFL Program
Aleisha Cotton: Caralee Community School
Outstanding Indigenous AFL Program
Neil Arnold: Balga Senior High School
Outstanding Multicultural Program
May Huang: North Lake Senior Campus
Melanie Robinson: St Norbert's College

We spoke to students from Ashfield and North Perth Primary about their love of footy and what make their teachers, both finalists in the 2017 AFL School Ambassador Awards, the best footy teachers in town! Check out the video below.