Latest News

Claremont claim 2024 WAFL Women's Grand FinalSunday, July 7, 2024 - 4:34 PM - by Chris Pike

A late goal from Rachel Ortlepp saw the Tigers claim the 2024 premiership in dramatic fashion with a three-point win 3.2 (20) to 2.5 (17) at Pentanet Stadium.

The third WAFL Women's Grand Final in as many years between East Fremantle and Claremont was always going to be an occasion to savour. 

Dual Dhara Kerr Medal winner Jayme Harken was named best on ground to win the Lou Knitter Medal to add to her accolades with the Claremont midfielder finishing with 22 possessions, five marks and four tackles.

The tough weather conditions meant that scoring was at a premium throughout the afternoon, but with a premiership at stake, both teams threw everything at it in the last 10 minutes.

Claremont had been leading virtually all afternoon but East Fremantle kept driving the ball forward in the last quarter and eventually were rewarded with a goal when Alicia Blizzard swooped on the ball out the back after the ball was driven in by Ash Atkins.

That had East Fremantle in front at the 14-minute of the last term but Claremont wouldn’t be denied. There was a ruck contest in the Tigers' forward pocket, Bec Anderson got it down to Kate Orme, who kicked the ball into the goal square where Rachel Ortlepp was waiting.

She grabbed it, snapped quickly to put it through and Claremont held on from there including co-captain Adele Arnup taking a big pack mark in her final game in the dying seconds for the Tigers to claim a three-point victory.

It's a second premiership in three years for Claremont with the Tigers starting well with the only scores in the first quarter including a goal to Anderson.

Arnup also kicked a goal in the second term for Claremont to be leading by 11 points at half-time, but then a goal Zippy Fish in the third term for the Sharks set up the thrilling final term as the rain pelted down at Joondalup.

Kate Orme also gathered 17 disposals for the Tigers, Rachel Ortlepp 13, the retiring Kobi Nichols 13, Claudia Wright 13, Juliet Kelly 13 and Jess Ritchie nine to go with 15 hit outs.

East Fremantle went ever so close to the back-to-back premierships with last year's best on ground Zippy Fish having another 15 possessions, eight tackles and a goal.

Sharon Wong also had 15 disposals and 11 tackles with Leanne Gubbins finishing with 14 touches, Taya Chambers 13, Chloe Reilly 12 and Laura Catherine had 29 hit outs.

Earlier in the day at Pentanet Stadium, West Perth completed the undefeated season to win the Rogers Cup premiership by defeating Subiaco 3.12 (30) to 0.0 (0).

West Perth's Hayley Bidefeld capped off a stellar season, claiming best on ground honours. Earlier in the week Bidefeld won the 2024 Rogers Cup Fairest and Best award.


CLAREMONT 3.2 (20) defeated EAST FREMANTLE 2.5 (17)


WEST PERTH 3.12 (30) defeated SUBIACO 0.0 (0)