Latest News

2017 McDonald's WAFL Premiership Season PreviewFriday, March 17, 2017 - 12:48 PM

Share |

THE 2017 McDonald's WAFL Premiership Season gets underway this Saturday with four fascinating matches with all nine clubs looking to make their mark throughout the year.

All nine clubs have made strides to grow and improve over the pre-season with the 2017 campaign to get underway with four big games this Saturday.

Swan Districts takes on Perth at Steel Blue Oval and East Fremantle faces Claremont at East Fremantle Oval both in the 2.15pm time slot.

Then at 4.15pm at Fremantle Community Bank Oval, South Fremantle is playing Subiaco before at Leederville Oval from 7pm, East Perth takes on Peel Thunder. 

West Perth has the Round 1 bye.

Before the season gets underway, here's how all the teams are shaping up:

Young talent at Tigerland leaves Harris excited on WAFL return 
Coach – Darren Harris
Last year – 7-13 (7th)
Arrivals – Anthony Morabito, Tom Lee, Charles LeFanu, Nick Winmar, Jesse Laurie
Departures – Rowen Powell, Darcy Cameron, Francis Watson, Jake Waterman, Brandon Franz

Wiley looks for Sharks to grow in second year in charge 
Coach – Rob Wiley
Last year – 9-11 (6th)
Arrivals – Jonathon Marsh, Tom Omodei, Jesse Mirco, Nathan Fahey
Departures – Jake Solomon, Mitch Boyle, James Bristow

Webster returns to Royals with winning his aim 
Coach – Luke Webster
Last year – 10-10 (lost elimination final)
Arrivals – Patrick McGinnity
Departures – Paul Johnson, Craig Wulff, Garry Moss, Clayton Giblett, Tom Omodei, Sam Powell-Pepper

Reigning premiers Peel keep focus on young, local talent 
Coach – Cam Shepherd 
Captain – Gerald Ugle
Last year – 11-9 (premiers)
Arrivals – Leroy Jetta
Departures – Nathan Fahey

Young brigade give Spalding reason for Demons hope 
Coach – Earl Spalding
Captain – Clint Jones 
Last year – 7-13 (8th)
Arrivals – Brant Colledge, Devin McFarlane, Clayton Giblett, Brad McPhail, Nelson Ansey, Tim Sutherland
Departures – Brett Wolfenden, Dene White, Matthew Taylor, Zac Fisher, Angus Graham

Bulldogs look to grow further after return to finals 
Coach – Todd Curley
Captain – Ryan Cook
Last year – 15-5 (lost preliminary final)
Arrivals – Cory Dell'Olio, Jarrod Garlett, Jake Solomon 
Departures – Jordan Matera, Brad McPhail, Jesse Mirco, Bailey Matera, Tim English, Tim Stewart

Retooled Subiaco prepare to be around the mark again 
Coach – Jarrad Schofield
Captain – Kyal Horsley
Last year – 16-4 (lost grand final)
Arrivals – Angus Litherland, Rowen Powell, Corey Adamson, Bailey Matera, Dylan Nelson, Daniel Perkins, Simon Parry, Sam Lowrie, Nick Menegola, Reid Polak
Departures – Greg Broughton, Brett Mahoney, Brett Robinson, Hamish Shepheard, Simon Moore, Shaquille McKenzie, Hayden Yarran, Daniel Leishman, Dylan Elliott, Mitch McPhee

Swans with plenty of reasons to expect bounce back in 2017 
Coach – Greg Harding
Captain – Tallan Ames
Last year – 2-18 (9th)
Arrivals – Ryan Crowley, Clancee Pearce, Jamie Bennell, Corey Gault, David Ellard, Xavier Ellis
Departures – Justin Simpson, Griffin Logue, Nelson Ansey, Albert Dean

Falcons with extra week to prepare for assault on 2017 
Coach – Bill Monaghan
Captain – Jay van Berlo
Last year – 13-7 (lost first semi-final)
Arrivals – Scott Simpson, Cale Delbridge, Mitch van Berlo, Riley Hutchinson
Departures – Max Duffy, Drew Rohde, Laine Rasmussen, Luke Tedesco, Rohan Kerr, Matt Johnson, Matt Fowler, Joel Leeson, Keegan Knott