Latest News

WAFLW Grand Final PreviewFriday, July 5, 2024 - 9:55 AM - by Chris Pike

In so many ways the 2024 WAFLW Grand Final will settle the score between East Fremantle and Claremont as they meet in a third decider having split one premiership apiece the past two years.

It just wouldn’t have felt right if the Sharks and Tigers weren’t able to lock horns in one more Grand Final in the WAFLW competition which will take place on Sunday at Pentanet Stadium.

The last two years have been remarkable in how they were virtual mirror images of one another with the underdog claiming the premiership on each occasion.



East Fremantle dominated the 2022 season winning all 14 games of the home and away campaign, and then beating Claremont in the second semi-final only for the Tigers to shock them in the Grand Final for the eight-point win.

Then last year, Claremont didn’t lose a game all season long with 13 wins and a draw before then beating South Fremantle in the second semi-final. This time, the Sharks turned the tide with the 12-point Grand Final win.

That now leads into this Saturday's Grand Final and it's East Fremantle entering on a 12-game winning streak including a three-point win in the second semi-final over Claremont.

But the Tigers set up the decider with the preliminary final win and now the rubber match will take place with all on the line on Saturday afternoon.

The Grand Final also features plenty of star power with Claremont midfielder Jayme Harken having claimed a second straight Dhara Kerr Medal on Monday night as the league's fairest and best player.

She won that vote count just aside of exciting teenage East Fremantle star Zippy Fish who was best on ground in last year's Grand Final while five-time Sharks premiership winner Sharon Wong was the previous Dhara Kerr Medal winner in 2022 prior to Harken's last two victories.

Claremont has Adele Arnup, Rachel and Claire Ortlepp, Kobi Nichols, Sarah Viney and Kate Orme who are in line to take part in a third Grand Final in as many years.

East Fremantle still has Beth Beckett, Sharon Wong, Taya Chambers, Laura Catherine, Dom Fedele, Mylee Leitch, Ashleigh Gomes, Zippy Fish and Leanne Gubbins who have also been there the past two years.

Sunday's Grand Final will be not only a third straight Grand Final between the two teams, but the fourth time the Tigers and Sharks have done battle in 2024.

Claremont won the first meeting by 34 points back in Round 3 which remains the lone game that East Fremantle has lost in all of 2024.

The Sharks hit back to win the return encounter by 21 points in Round 13 and then it was a thrilling three-point second semi-final win for East Fremantle two weeks ago also at Pentanet Stadium.

From that East Fremantle team that won the second semi-final, there are two changes with Maya Louvel-Finn and Samara Pluschke into the line-up for the Grand Final.

Going out for the Sharks are Siena Jezierski-Brown and Madison Evans.

Claremont has made just the one change from the team that beat West Perth in last Saturday's preliminary final with Taylah Orzel back into the team and Bridie Garlick the unlucky one to make way.

The Grand Final day at Pentanet Stadium will get underway with the Rogers Cup decider between Chris PWest Perth and Subiaco from 11.20am.

The WAFLW Grand Final will be broadcast live on Channel 7 from 2pm on Sunday.